PROMETEI (IMO 9296597)
Is PROMETEI sanctioned?
Yes. As of 6 September 2026, PROMETEI (IMO 9296597) is listed by Switzerland, the United Kingdom and Canada.
Switzerland listed it on 12 December 2025 under Switzerland — Situation in Ukraine: Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41, which imposes a port-access and maritime-services ban.
The United Kingdom listed it on 24 February 2026 under The Russia (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019, which imposes a port-access and maritime-services ban.
Canada listed it on 25 March 2026 under Canada — Russia / Russie sanctions (Special Economic Measures Act), which imposes an asset freeze (blocking sanctions).
It is not listed by the United States (OFAC) and the European Union.
It has been under sanction for 268 days.
Generated from the listing data below; wording is fixed by template, not written freely. See methodology.
At a glance
- Type
- Chemical/Products Tanker
- Deadweight
- —
- Gross tonnage
- 45,897
- Built
- 2005
- Current flag
- Sierra Leone SL UK Sanctions List (FCDO)
- MMSI
- —
- Call sign
- —
- First sanctioned
- Authorities listing
- Days under sanction
- 268
- Status
- Currently listed
Sanctions timeline
- SwitzerlandListed
“Transport crude oil or petroleum products or mineral products that originate in Russia or are exported from Russia and practice irregular and high-risk shipping practices as set out in the International Maritime Organisation General Assembly resolution A.1192(33).”
- UKListed
“The Secretary of State has reasonable grounds to suspect that IMO 9296597 (‘PROMETEI’) is, has been or is likely to be involved in activity whose object or effect is to destabilise Ukraine or undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty …”
- CanadaListed
Current listings
| Authority | Program / legal basis | Measure | Listed | Removed | Authority's stated reason | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ukraine (GUR) | Ukraine — War & Sanctions shadow-fleet catalogue (not a legal designation) | mixed | — | Not stated in the list entry | Ukraine War & Sanctions portal — shadow-fleet catalogue entry | |
| Switzerland | Switzerland — Situation in Ukraine: Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41 | port ban | — | Transport crude oil or petroleum products or mineral products that originate in Russia or are exported from Russia and practice irregular and high-risk shipping practices as set out in the International Maritime Organisation General Assembly resolution A.1192(33). | SECO sanctions list entry 99573 (Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41) | |
| UK | The Russia (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 | port ban | — | The Secretary of State has reasonable grounds to suspect that IMO 9296597 (‘PROMETEI’) is, has been or is likely to be involved in activity whose object or effect is to destabilise Ukraine or undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty or independence of Ukraine or to obtain a benefit from or support the Government of Russia. Namely, 9296597 is involved in carrying oil or oil p… | UK Sanctions List entry RUS3468 (UK designation) | |
| Canada | Canada — Russia / Russie sanctions (Special Economic Measures Act) | asset freeze | — | Not stated in the list entry | Canadian autonomous sanctions list — Russia / Russie, schedule 1.1, item 588 |
Name history
| Name | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|
| PROMETEI | current (from 25 Mar 2026 listing) | UK Sanctions List (FCDO), Swiss SECO sanctions list, Canadian autonomous sanctions list (SEMA), Ukraine War & Sanctions catalogue |
"Former" names are those the authority prints as f.k.a. Dates of name changes are not stated by the lists; a name shown as current by one authority and former by another usually means the hull was renamed between designations.
Flag history
| Flag | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Sierra Leone | current | UK Sanctions List (FCDO) |
Flags are as printed by each authority at the time of its listing; "None identified" is OFAC's wording for a vessel with no valid registration. Order is not chronological unless dated.
Ownership & management
| Company | Relationship | Jurisdiction | Confidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seafaring Savants LLC | Owner / operator (as stated by UK FCDO) | not stated | name match | UK Sanctions List (FCDO) |
Ownership is stated as "per {source} as of its listing". This site does not independently verify beneficial ownership. Individuals are only shown when they appear in an official designation.
Incidents
No sourced incidents recorded yet for this vessel. Incidents (seizures, boardings, detentions, casualties) are added only with a dated primary or major-outlet source — see how to submit one.
Behaviour signals
AIS-gap and encounter signals from Global Fishing Watch are planned (Phase 3) and will carry a methodology caveat. Nothing here tracks live position.
Understanding this record
- Asset freeze, port ban, services ban: what each listing prohibitsRelevant here because this hull is under more than one kind of measure.
- How a ship gets sanctioned: OFAC, the UK and the EU comparedRelevant here because this hull is listed by more than one authority.
- The G7 price cap and the attestation systemRelevant here because an older tanker is typical of the trade the price cap reshaped.
- How to check whether a ship is sanctionedRelevant here because you may want to verify this record against the authorities directly.
Cite this page
Sanctioned Vessels. “PROMETEI (IMO 9296597) — sanctions record.” Data as of 6 September 2026. https://sanctionedvessels.org/vessel/9296597. Sources: Ukraine War & Sanctions catalogue; Swiss SECO sanctions list; UK Sanctions List (FCDO); Canadian autonomous sanctions list (SEMA); uk_sanctions_list,ch_seco,ca_sema,ua_war_sanctions.
Raw source files for this record are snapshotted daily (see methodology). Errors: request a correction.
This page restates listings published by the named authorities and quotes their stated reasons. It is not a finding by this site, not legal advice, and not a substitute for screening against the official lists.