⚓ Sanctioned Vessels

SPARTA (IMO 9268710)

Is SPARTA sanctioned?

Yes. As of 6 September 2026, SPARTA (IMO 9268710) is listed by the United States (OFAC), the European Union, Switzerland and Canada.

The United States (OFAC) listed it on 8 May 2022 under Russia — Executive Order 14024, which imposes an asset freeze (blocking sanctions).

The European Union listed it on 24 April 2026 under EU — Regulation (EU) No 833/2014, Annex XLII (vessel list, Article 3s), which imposes a port-access and maritime-services ban.

Switzerland listed it on 21 May 2026 under Switzerland — Situation in Ukraine: Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41, which imposes a port-access and maritime-services ban.

Canada listed it on 12 June 2026 under Canada — Russia / Russie sanctions (Special Economic Measures Act), which imposes an asset freeze (blocking sanctions).

It is not listed by the United Kingdom.

It has been under sanction for 1,582 days.

Generated from the listing data below; wording is fixed by template, not written freely. See methodology.

At a glance

Type
Roll-on Roll-off
Deadweight
Gross tonnage
8,831
Built
2003
Current flag
Russia RU OFAC SDN List
MMSI
Call sign
First sanctioned
Authorities listing
Days under sanction
1,582
Status
Currently listed

Sanctions timeline

  1. US (OFAC)Listed
  2. EUListed
    Amending regulation to Reg. 833/2014 applied 2026-04-24 (package number to be verified)
    “Article 3s(2), point (a): transport goods and technology used in the defence and security sector, from or to Russia, for use in Russia or for Russia’s warfare in Ukraine. Article 3s(2), point (g): are owned, chartered or operated by natural …”
  3. SwitzerlandListed
    “Transport goods and technology used in the defence and security sector, from or to Russia, for use in Russia or for Russia’s warfare in Ukraine.”
  4. CanadaListed

Current listings

AuthorityProgram / legal basisMeasureListedRemovedAuthority's stated reasonSource
US (OFAC) Russia — Executive Order 14024 asset freeze Not stated in the list entry (see press release in timeline) OFAC SDN List entry 37027 (SDN List)
EU EU — Regulation (EU) No 833/2014, Annex XLII (vessel list, Article 3s) port ban Article 3s(2), point (a): transport goods and technology used in the defence and security sector, from or to Russia, for use in Russia or for Russia’s warfare in Ukraine. Article 3s(2), point (g): are owned, chartered or operated by natural or legal persons, entities or bodies listed in Annex I to Regulation (EU) No 269/2014, are otherwise used in the name of, on behalf of, in relation with or … Regulation (EU) No 833/2014, Annex XLII, entry 618 (consolidated 20260724)
Switzerland Switzerland — Situation in Ukraine: Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41 port ban Transport goods and technology used in the defence and security sector, from or to Russia, for use in Russia or for Russia’s warfare in Ukraine. SECO sanctions list entry 103947 (Ordinance of 4 March 2022 on measures related to the situation in Ukraine (RS 946.231.176.72), annexes 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12,13, 14, 14a, 15, 15a, 15b, 15c, 25, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 41)
Canada Canada — Russia / Russie sanctions (Special Economic Measures Act) asset freeze Not stated in the list entry Canadian autonomous sanctions list — Russia / Russie, schedule 1.1, item 701

Name history

NameKindSource
SPARTAcurrent (from 12 Jun 2026 listing)OFAC SDN List, EU Reg. 833/2014 Annex XLII, Swiss SECO sanctions list, Canadian autonomous sanctions list (SEMA)

"Former" names are those the authority prints as f.k.a. Dates of name changes are not stated by the lists; a name shown as current by one authority and former by another usually means the hull was renamed between designations.

Flag history

FlagKindSource
Russia currentOFAC SDN List

Flags are as printed by each authority at the time of its listing; "None identified" is OFAC's wording for a vessel with no valid registration. Order is not chronological unless dated.

Ownership & management

CompanyRelationshipJurisdictionConfidenceSource
SC South LLC also designated Owned or controlled by (OFAC designation link) Russia stated link OFAC SDN List

Ownership is stated as "per {source} as of its listing". This site does not independently verify beneficial ownership. Individuals are only shown when they appear in an official designation.

Sister vessels (shared owner/manager at any point)

Incidents

No sourced incidents recorded yet for this vessel. Incidents (seizures, boardings, detentions, casualties) are added only with a dated primary or major-outlet source — see how to submit one.

Behaviour signals

AIS-gap and encounter signals from Global Fishing Watch are planned (Phase 3) and will carry a methodology caveat. Nothing here tracks live position.

Understanding this record

Cite this page

Sanctioned Vessels. “SPARTA (IMO 9268710) — sanctions record.” Data as of 6 September 2026. https://sanctionedvessels.org/vessel/9268710. Sources: OFAC SDN List; EU Reg. 833/2014 Annex XLII; Swiss SECO sanctions list; Canadian autonomous sanctions list (SEMA); ofac_sdn,eu_reg_833_annex_xlii,ch_seco,ca_sema.

Raw source files for this record are snapshotted daily (see methodology). Errors: request a correction.

This page restates listings published by the named authorities and quotes their stated reasons. It is not a finding by this site, not legal advice, and not a substitute for screening against the official lists.