DONG FENG 6 (IMO 9008201)
Is DONG FENG 6 sanctioned?
Yes. As of 6 September 2026, DONG FENG 6 (IMO 9008201) is listed by the United States (OFAC), the United Kingdom and Australia.
The United States (OFAC) listed it on 23 February 2018 under North Korea — E.O. 13810, which imposes an asset freeze (blocking sanctions).
The United Kingdom listed it on 30 March 2018 under The Democratic People's Republic of Korea (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019, which imposes a port-access and maritime-services ban.
Australia listed it on 28 August 2026 under Charter of the United Nations (Sanctions — Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulations 2008, which imposes a port-access and maritime-services ban.
It is not listed by the European Union.
It has been under sanction for 3,117 days.
Generated from the listing data below; wording is fixed by template, not written freely. See methodology.
At a glance
- Type
- not stated in sources
- Deadweight
- 5,515 t
- Gross tonnage
- —
- Built
- —
- Current flag
- Tanzania TZ OFAC SDN List
- MMSI
- —
- Call sign
- —
- First sanctioned
- Authorities listing
- Days under sanction
- 3,117
- Status
- Currently listed
Sanctions timeline
Current listings
| Authority | Program / legal basis | Measure | Listed | Removed | Authority's stated reason | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US (OFAC) | North Korea — E.O. 13810 | asset freeze | — | Not stated in the list entry (see press release in timeline) | OFAC SDN List entry 23780 (SDN List) | |
| UK | The Democratic People's Republic of Korea (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 | port ban | — | Not stated in the list entry | UK Sanctions List entry DPR0280 (UN designation) | |
| Australia | Charter of the United Nations (Sanctions — Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulations 2008 | port ban | — | Not stated in the list entry | Australian Consolidated List reference 8839 (Charter of the United Nations (Sanctions — Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulations 2008) |
Name history
| Name | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|
| DONG FENG 6 | current (from 28 Aug 2026 listing) | OFAC SDN List, UK Sanctions List (FCDO), Australian DFAT Consolidated List |
"Former" names are those the authority prints as f.k.a. Dates of name changes are not stated by the lists; a name shown as current by one authority and former by another usually means the hull was renamed between designations.
Flag history
| Flag | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Tanzania | current | OFAC SDN List |
Flags are as printed by each authority at the time of its listing; "None identified" is OFAC's wording for a vessel with no valid registration. Order is not chronological unless dated.
Ownership & management
| Company | Relationship | Jurisdiction | Confidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shanghai Dongfeng Shpg CO LTD also designated | Owned or controlled by (OFAC designation link) | China | stated link | OFAC SDN List |
Ownership is stated as "per {source} as of its listing". This site does not independently verify beneficial ownership. Individuals are only shown when they appear in an official designation.
Incidents
No sourced incidents recorded yet for this vessel. Incidents (seizures, boardings, detentions, casualties) are added only with a dated primary or major-outlet source — see how to submit one.
Behaviour signals
AIS-gap and encounter signals from Global Fishing Watch are planned (Phase 3) and will carry a methodology caveat. Nothing here tracks live position.
Understanding this record
- Asset freeze, port ban, services ban: what each listing prohibitsRelevant here because this hull is under more than one kind of measure.
- How a ship gets sanctioned: OFAC, the UK and the EU comparedRelevant here because this hull is listed by more than one authority.
- How to check whether a ship is sanctionedRelevant here because you may want to verify this record against the authorities directly.
- What is the shadow fleet?Relevant here because it gives the background to the trade these listings target.
Cite this page
Sanctioned Vessels. “DONG FENG 6 (IMO 9008201) — sanctions record.” Data as of 6 September 2026. https://sanctionedvessels.org/vessel/9008201. Sources: OFAC SDN List; UK Sanctions List (FCDO); Australian DFAT Consolidated List; ofac_sdn,uk_sanctions_list,au_dfat.
Raw source files for this record are snapshotted daily (see methodology). Errors: request a correction.
This page restates listings published by the named authorities and quotes their stated reasons. It is not a finding by this site, not legal advice, and not a substitute for screening against the official lists.